Big Ten officiating crew defends controversial call in eventual loss for Michigan vs. OSU

Zain Bando

Big Ten officiating crew defends controversial call in eventual loss for Michigan vs. OSU image

© Junfu Han / USA TODAY NETWORK via Imagn Images

In the first quarter of "The Game," Michigan linebacker Jaishawn Barham lost his composure and clearly headbutted a referee in the face. The contact was obvious on broadcast replays.

Barham lowered his helmet and drove it forward in frustration after a play. He received a 15-yard unsportsmanlike conduct penalty, but he was not ejected. Barham remained in the game and finished with seven tackles. 

After the game, Big Ten referee Kole Knueppel explained: “In Rule 9, it’s a judgment call. By the judgment of the official, it wasn’t forcible enough for ejection, but it was an unsportsmanlike.”

This explanation shocked analysts.

Former NFL VP of Officiating Terry McAulay immediately tweeted: “Automatic ejection. In no universe should he be allowed to play another down.” FOX’s Joel Klatt called it “a massive mistake” during the live broadcast, stating that the officials had “every right” to eject him. 

The decision not to eject Barham directly affected the scoreboard. Ohio State faced third-and-goal from the 1-yard line. The penalty gave Michigan a new set of downs at the 16. The Buckeyes scored a touchdown two plays later but had it overturned on review, and a false start made them settle for a field goal. Many believe that an ejection would have shifted the momentum significantly. 

Critics argue that the officials prioritized “keeping themselves out of the game” over the safety of players and officials. Contact with an official—especially with the crown of the helmet—has been an automatic disqualification in the NFL for years and should be the same in college when it is deemed forcible. Barham, a Maryland transfer with 31 tackles, 10 tackles for loss, and four sacks this season, faced no further punishment. The Big Ten has not announced any additional discipline. This incident will be remembered as one of the most puzzling officiating decisions in recent rivalry history.

News Correspondent