Why Seahawks were credited with 2-point conversion after initial incomplete ruling

Mike Moraitis

Why Seahawks were credited with 2-point conversion after initial incomplete ruling image

Vincent Carchietta-Imagn Images

The Seattle Seahawks caught a huge break during their Week 16 game against the Los Angeles Rams.

Late in the fourth quarter with the Seahawks going for a two-point conversion to tie the game at 30, it appeared that the Rams had made a stop after batting away a Sam Darnold pass.

The call on the field was initially incomplete, but it was later overturned upon review and the Seahawks were credited with a two-point conversion to knot the game at 30.

Why Seahawks were credited with 2-point conversion

The officials ruled that Darnold's pass was a backward pass, thus the batted throw was considered a fumble and a live ball, and the Seahawks scored after running back Zach Charbonnet casually picked the ball up not realizing how big that was.

Here's video of the play. Bear in mind, where the ball leaves Darnold's hand and where the defender made contact with it is how the pass is judged.

That is easily one of the more wild plays you will ever see in an NFL game and it amounted to a massive break for a Seahawks team that desperately needed one.

Now, we'll have to see if the Seahawks can finish the job of what would be an unbelievable comeback against the Rams.

More NFL News

Senior Editor