Padres' Jake Cronenworth somehow hit a ground-rule double that didn't even make it past the infield

Billy Heyen

Padres' Jake Cronenworth somehow hit a ground-rule double that didn't even make it past the infield image

Jake Cronenworth provided us with the latest example of why you can't predict baseball.

On Saturday, the San Diego Padres infielder hit a ground-rule double that never even made it to the outfield grass.

Confused yet?

Here's what happened:

Cronenworth, facing Braves lefty Aaron Bummer, rocked a line drive back up the middle. Bummer stuck out his right leg and managed to backheel the baseball toward the third-base line.

The ball was hit and deflected so hard that it just kept right on rolling into the third-base dugout.

Follow AllSportsPeople on WhatsApp

Two bases for Cronenworth, because the batted ball was first touched in fair territory before then winding up out of play.

It's pretty safe to say this won't happen again the rest of the season, but Cronenworth will gladly take the double.

MORE MLB: 

News Correspondent