Cowboys vs. Lions safety call, explained: Why officials ruled Dak Prescott sack near end zone wasn't points for Detroit

Daniel Mader

Cowboys vs. Lions safety call, explained: Why officials ruled Dak Prescott sack near end zone wasn't points for Detroit image

The Detroit Lions and Dallas Cowboys came into their Week 14 matchup on Thursday night both firmly in the NFC Wild Card race, but on the outside looking in.

For both squads, a win would be a needed step toward a playoff berth after some tough stretches in 2025. Given the talent of both offenses, every point would be critical -- so when the Lions appeared to have an extra two points in the first half, then the officials took that away, it resulted in some controversy.

Detroit appeared to sack Dak Prescott in the end zone for a safety, but upon further review, the officials decided otherwise.

Here's a look at Thursday's controversial non-safety call in Lions vs. Cowboys.

MORE: Updates, highlights from Cowboys vs. Lions

Cowboys vs. Lions safety call, explained

Around the halfway point of the first quarter, Dallas and Detroit were tied at three, each going on field-goal drives. However, the Lions' defense then began to hone in on Prescott.

On a 3rd & 4 from the Cowboys' own 11-yard line, Prescott found himself just on the verge of the wrong goal line as he tried to find a target. Jack Campbell came through the line to take down the Dallas quarterback, wrapping him up before both players fell into the end zone.

At first glance, it looked like an obvious safety. Campbell's tackle came right into the end zone, and the Lions were about to take a 5-3 lead.

The officials, however, decided otherwise after taking a closer look at the play. Because Prescott did not have the entire ball past the goal line at the time, the Lions were given a sack at the one-yard line, instead of the safety.

Here's a closer look at the angle that the officials used to rule the play a non-safety. When Campbell makes contact with Prescott, the ball does not appear to be fully in the end zone -- although it was extremely lose.

Campbell was still given the sack, but instead of the Lions taking a slim lead, the Cowboys went on to punt on fourth down out of their own end zone. Detroit scored a touchdown on its following drive to take a 10-3 lead. 

Content Producer

Contributing Writer