DRS Root-ed? Alex Carey catch off England star given not out in Ashes controversy

Kieran Francis

DRS Root-ed? Alex Carey catch off England star given not out in Ashes controversy image

Channel 7

A potential dismissal of England star Joe Root has controversially been given not out as the DRS controversy flares again.

Scott Boland thought he had Root caught behind for one run by Alex Carey just before lunch in a dismissal that would have left England reeling at 4/43 - after Australia made 371 in their first innings.

But after an extensive video review of the catch, the third umpire deemed the ball to have bounced before being grasped by Carey.

Do you agree? You be the judge.

Was Joe Root out? - AllSportsPeople opinion

MORE: England threaten action over Alex Carey Ashes Snicko drama

Could Alex Carey have caught Root's nick before the ball bounced?

Yes.

Can you 100 per cent conclusively say that Carey caught the ball before it bounced?

No, you cannot.

Therefore, the benefit of the doubt should be given to the batter and a correct decision was reached by the DRS.

You win some and lose some with DRS - as England can attest to with Alex Carey's non-dismissal on Wednesday.

Either way with Root's possible dismissal, the decision would have been controversial, but it appears like the right call has been made.

Contributing Writer